Friday, April 28, 2017

RELEASE WEEK BLITZ, 5 STAR REVIEW & GIVEAWAY: Too Hard to Forget (Romancing the Clarksons #3) by Tessa Bailey




Title: TOO HARD TO FORGET
Author: Tessa Bailey
Series: Romancing The Clarksons, #3
On Sale: April 25, 2017
Publisher: Forever
Mass Market: $7.99 USD
eBook: $5.99 USD


The third book in New York Times bestselling author Tessa Bailey's Romancing the Clarksons series about four siblings on a cross-country road trip, perfect for fans of Gena Showalter and Julie James!

This time, she's calling the shots.

Peggy Clarkson is returning to her alma mater with one goal in mind: confront Elliott Brooks, the man who ruined her for all others, and remind him of what he's been missing. Even after three years, seeing him again is like a punch in the gut, but Peggy's determined to stick to her plan. Maybe then, once she has the upper hand, she'll finally be able to move on.

In the years since Peggy left Cincinnati, Elliott has kept his focus on football. No distractions and no complications. But when Peggy walks back onto his practice field and into his life, he knows she could unravel everything in his carefully controlled world. Because the girl who was hard to forget is now a woman impossible to resist.











My Review

I received an advanced copy of this book with the promise of an honest review. 

This is the type of book that makes me thankful that I started reading romance. I'm not sure I can put into words how I feel about this book, but I am going to try my best. 

First of all, I love this series. And with every book that comes out, it just gets better. I enjoyed Rita's story and then Aaron came along and made me like his uptight ass. And now we have Peggy. Those of us in Tessa's Facebook group have known about the book for a while now and she has been teasing the hell out of us. Giving us little snippets from the book and showing us the photos she used for inspiration. So by the time I received my ARC, I was more than ready to read it.

On the surface, Peggy and Elliot's relationship doesn't seem that complicated. He's the coach. She's the cheerleader. They have sex. Really hot sex. Seems simple enough, right? WRONG. They met a an extremely stressful time in Elliot's life. Peggy noticed Elliot and made sure that he noticed her. And she let him know that if he wanted her, he could have her. And he did. A lot. In secret. But then Elliot took advantage of that and treated her in a way that he now regrets. Then he went and shattered Peggy's heart. When she returns for alumni weekend, the two of them are forced to deal with their past relationship. Peggy wants to move on and while at first Elliot wants nothing to do with her, he FINALLY sees that having her in his life can only be a positive thing.

Sweet baby Jesus this book is HOT. Maybe it's the older man/younger woman thing they got going on. Or the fact that it has a bit of that taboo vibe (aka "this is wrong for us to feel this way") to it. Or maybe it's because Tessa Bailey is a freaking unicorn and can make pretty much anything hot as hell. Or maybe it's all of the above. Seriously y'all. Peggy and Elliot's chemistry is off the charts hot. Like ghost pepper hot. There were moments when I thought "I don't think I've ever read anything this hot in my life." 

So to sum up, at first I was like:

And then I was like: 

But beneath all the sexiness there is a really sweet story. Despite their differences, Peggy and Elliot are great for each other. They understand each other more than they want to admit and they are at their happiest/content when together. Peggy is even able to help Elliot with important things happening in both his personal life and professional life. And even though Peggy was doing it because she truly is a genuine person, it allowed Elliot to see that. He had been looking at her through a certain lens and Peggy's actions in this book shattered that lens. Elliot realized that he completely and unfairly underestimated Peggy as a human being. And that only intensified his feelings for her. And that leads to Elliot fighting for her love. Their relationship is explosive, but sweet and I loved every single moment of it. 

This is my favorite book of the series and I may or may not have gone back to reread sections because I can't get enough. It's just that good. We only have one more book left to go in this series. BELMONT & SAGE. Oh my god. I have a feeling that their book is going to send me to an early grave. Because once again, Tessa has teased us with enough to make us all want more. She tugged at my heart strings and OH MY GOD I NEED TO KNOW THE WHOLE STORY. But I take comfort in the fact that I am not alone in this. And now I am going to get a head start and form the "I've finished the Romancing the Clarksons series and I need someone to hold me" support group. 







EXCERPT



“I don’t know, Peggy.” He whirled on her, closing in until she was forced back onto the desk. “I had an All-American on my squad this morning and now I don’t. That’s all I know.” He pointed a finger toward the window. “I solve problems down on the field. Saving people isn’t my job.”


Saving people. God, there was such a wealth of regret and pain in those two words. But he couldn’t hear it and she couldn’t address it. Letting him know she saw right through his fa├žade to the hurt beneath might force Elliott to close himself off. “You didn’t always limit yourself. Why are you doing it now?”


“Accepting things that can’t be changed isn’t a limitation. It’s realistic.”


“But how will you know if something can’t be changed unless you try?”


“When it comes to certain things, Peggy, trying leads to losing.” He was in her face now, the mint from his toothpaste familiar and inviting where it slid over her lips. “And I don’t lose.”


No one ever stood up this man but her, and she wouldn’t be cowed now. “No? You’re out a receiver.” She hitched herself up on his desk. “I’d call that a loss.”


The tips of his shoes met Peggy’s, his hands gripping the furniture on either side of her hips. “Who do you think you are, little girl? Coming into my office and telling me what I’ve done wrong?” His eyes were brilliant in their vexation, the attraction he was trying so hard to fight. “Where do you get the goddamn bravery?”


“The bravery is what you liked best about me,” she breathed, heat sizzling in a downward V toward her thighs. “Isn’t it?”


“No. That bravery is what almost led to my downfall.” His hands found her bottom, jerking her to the edge of the desk. “I resented it. Still do.”


“Liar,” Peggy whispered, easing her thighs wider. “You’re dying for an excuse to head for another downfall.” When her legs were as open as she could spread them, she leaned up to Elliott’s ear and let her breath shake loose. “One thrust.”


Elliott’s right hand came up out of nowhere, molding over Peggy’s mouth as his hips crowded into the notch of her legs. With a quick maneuver to recline her halfway back, Elliott’s erection found the apex of her thighs, delivering an aggressive pump against her underwear that sent a scream climbing up Peggy’s throat, only to be trapped by his hand. Knees jerking up out of reflex over the rush of sensation, an orgasm almost—almost— broke past the surface, sending her waters rippling out on all sides. Her legs wanted to hug Elliott’s waist, her voice wanted to beg for one more, one more, one more, but he shook his head, denying her, even though his gaze was hot, a low groan issuing from his harshly masculine mouth.


He leaned in and nipped the lobe of her ear. “Next time, ask for two.”





THE ROMANCING THE CLARKSONS SERIES

TOO HOT TO HANDLE, #1
TOO WILD TO TAME, #2
TOO HARD TO FORGET, #3
TOO BEAUTIFUL TO BREAK, #4





Tessa Bailey is originally from Carlsbad, California. The day after high school graduation, she packed her yearbook, ripped jeans, and laptop, and drove cross-country to New York City in under four days. Her most valuable life experiences were learned thereafter while waitressing at K-Dees, a Manhattan pub owned by her uncle. Inside those four walls, she met her husband, best friend, and discovered the magic of classic rock, managing to put herself through Kingsborough Community College and the English program at Pace University at the same time. Several stunted attempts to enter the work force as a journalist followed, but romance writing continued to demand her attention.

She now lives in Long Island, New York with her husband and daughter. Although she is severely sleep-deprived, she is incredibly happy to be living her dream of writing about people falling in love. 



FOLLOW FOREVER ONLINE 



GIVEAWAY


a Rafflecopter giveaway

No comments:

Post a Comment